Pink Flowering Bromeliad

Hi! Remember that watercolor study I did a couple of posts back with the green leaves and pink flowers? I used it as a basis for this “Pink Flowering Bromeliad” acrylic painting. I haven’t signed my painting yet, because I’m not sure if it’s done. I’m torn. Half of me thinks it’s good as is. I’m happy with it. Half of me thinks maybe it’s not. What do you think? The modernist painter, Marc Chagall, used to hold up a rock or a flower to a painting to decide if it was done, to see if it “held up” to nature, I’ve recently learned. Might be a good idea; I’ll have to try it!

Pink Flowering Bromeliad acrylic painting by Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon
Pink Flowering Bromeliad acrylic painting by Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon
Pink Flowering Bromeliad acrylic painting by Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon
Pink Flowering Bromeliad acrylic painting by Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon
Posted in art

12 thoughts on “Pink Flowering Bromeliad

    1. Thank you, Shawn – I think you will like the finished piece even better, as I decided to keep working on this to give the shapes more definition and depth. Happy Valentine’s Day!

      Like

  1. I enjoy your posts and your art! When I’m stuck on a painting, I hang it up on a wall that I walk past often. Then, over time, I come to realize what it needs or decide its done. Sometimes this process takes a long time, other times its only a matter of days but it has to be settled in my own heart, in my own mind that its the best I could do. Then I can put it out for the world to see with no regrets. You’ll know in your heart if you love it or not. Thanks for the post. Katie Turner

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!! Love how it looks on a large canvas!! So gorgeous! 😃💕 I struggle with knowing when a painting is done too. Yesterday, I was listening to the interview of the Seattle artist, Liz Tran and I liked what she does. She turns it around and doesn’t look at it for a few days so she can view it with fresh eyes. Maybe this will help you too. 🎨👍

    Like

Comments are closed.