Dip Pen & Watercolor

 

https://society6.com/product/cacti-and-wildflowers-s26_print#s6-8012042p4a1v45
Cacti and Wildflowers

The other day I started this little design, using a glass dip pen and watercolor. Last night, I filled it in with more elements and color. If anyone is interested in dip pen art and tips, check out the new Facebook group called Dip Pen Artists at https://www.facebook.com/groups/281652878882785/.

I am using a J. Herbin glass dip pen which I purchased from JetPens.com, along with Dr. Ph. Martin Bombay Indian Inks in Grass Green, Tea, Aqua, Violet Red, Yellow Ochre, Magenta and Cherry Red plus a little white (I used a lot of the colors as I just got two sets of 12 colors each!) – as well as QoR tube watercolor in Quinacridone Magenta and Green Gold.

Dip Pen & Watercolor | Sand Salt Moon | Cynthia Maniglia.jpg

For this design, I outlined shapes – flowers, leaves, and cacti, then I filled in the shapes with watercolor or diluted ink. Some of the shapes I completely “colored in” with my dip pen.

The dip pen is easy to use, and later on I can share with you some step by step shots of how to use the dip pen.

For a little over a year, I’ve been practicing my art and posting on WordPress. I also have a Facebook page (Sand Salt Moon). I want to thank everyone who follows me on WordPress for your “Likes,” support, comments, tips, encouragement, and visiting my blog. This has been a wonderful way for me to share my artwork with you.

11 thoughts on “Dip Pen & Watercolor

  1. Just so fresh and summertime, this type of patterns are my favourite of what you do. It has been such a pleasure following you and your artistic journey. I love how fearless you are in what you tackle. Karen

    Like

Comments are closed.