#WorldWatercolor Month ~ Day 5

#WorldWatercolorMonth | Day 5 - 2016 | Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon |Impressionistic Flowers
#WorldWatercolorMonth | Day 5 – 2016 | Cynthia Maniglia | Sand Salt Moon |Impressionistic Flowers

Yesterday’s flowers didn’t turn out exactly as I had planned, and neither did these. They’re actually loose studies of flowers I photographed while visiting Crowley Nursery and Garden near where I live. I don’t even know the name of the actual flowers, and I didn’t paint with a close reference to the photo, only with it in mind. The actual photo I took looked like a finished watercolor, which is a good thing (wow, I could paint that!) and a bad thing (why paint that? the photograph is enough). Let’s just say it’s a challenge in the back of my mind while just trying to have fun. If I were to paint from the actual photograph as I would see it in a watercolor version, I envision it being much larger and taking much longer than just one day in a month for a Worldwide Watercolor challenge. So perhaps that is a later project? I think tomorrow I will tackle something besides flowers. I am flowered out for a bit, even though you know flowers are one of my absolute favs to paint, draw, photograph, grow, you name it!

23 thoughts on “#WorldWatercolor Month ~ Day 5

      1. bottom right quadrant, in the grey area, on the left of the pink circular spot which is to the left of the mustardy stick coming into the pic from the right…got that.,..hahaha?! It’s a dark grey crescent shape.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Imagine a man wearing a dark suit, with just a little bit of white of the shirt showing at the wrist, then that squishy hand poking out….an arc.

        Like

  1. Oh, Cynthia, I think this would make a fabulous full-body bathing costume! Yes, definitely. And PS: I can see an dark arm and white hand in there….

    Like

  2. Beautiful painting, just enough form to think flowers and so lovely in composition and brush stroke not to need the exact variety of bloom. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Comments are closed.