This Fella

The turtle I saw the other day.jpg
Drawing the turtle I saw on my way to work the other day … this felt a little “masculine” with it’s black, green, and purple colors – sort of comic-book style – for me. I started it in pencil with a lot of shading, then brought in colored watercolor pencils which I used dry (no water), black ink, and finally markers. This fella was at the gate at the end of our drive, standing in the sandy road. I spotted him as I was pulling out in my car on the way to work the other day. He was so big and a new creature to see, which caused me to stop my car and snap a photo of him with my phone. Good thing he didn’t snap at me!

Here’s what he looks like in “real life” … my photo reference:

13094365_1025333810866941_2554366633204090345_n

11 thoughts on “This Fella

Comments are closed.