The only difference is the lighting

WP_20160419_003.jpgWP_20160419_008.jpgWP_20160419_006.jpgWP_20160419_002.jpg

These are all the same piece of artwork in my watercolor journal, photographed with my Lumia Nokia phone in day light, direct sun and different types of shade (all natural light).

I am amazed how different it looks. My process was simple – dots of pale watercolor washes in a variety of colors (mostly I used dried color that was in my paintbox palette – the bits around the edges of my pan paints – as I cleaned off my palette using my brush and water).

When it was all very dry, I went into the white areas of the paper and made black marks using my Faber-Castell marker.

These are the colors I see in the ocean when we go to the beach here in Florida. My palette for painting this is very much inspired by my recent trip to the beach.

Here’s the scanned image.

BeachyBits scan
Excited “Beachy Bits” has been selected to be included in the Society6 Shop. Looks great on all the products!
beachy bits society6 products
Check out these great products with my Beachy Bits artwork

And …

Thrilled my quote in this coming Saturday/Sunday’s Woman’s Advantage Calendar: “Use the WHOLE box of crayons.” https://lnkd.in/e2qMC4N

23 thoughts on “The only difference is the lighting

  1. First, the art is beautiful. But I really notice differences in light and photography too. Sometimes a cloudy day is better, and sometimes sunny. When I have time, I try to photo things under different circumstances. And then there’s scanning…(K)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Oh, yes – the scanning! I try as much as I can to get the scanned image to match the real life piece – but when certain colors or textures don’t show up in the scan, I have to compensate.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Lighting challenge aside (which I totally relate to!) – this piece is so beautiful. I admire the time and effort you put into this to create such an amazing intricate, soft, soothing design. Beautiful!

    Like

  3. gorgeous!! woohoo. the paler one seems very relaxed and ‘beachy’ 🙂
    it is amazing what happens with the light. I think we all get a Work Out, when we take pics! Grab my camera, run to garage, dash to the patio, to the fence etc. ‘hunting for the best light’ Someone would get a giggle watching. just not me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s great! Love it!
    This photo/light thing is so depressing at times : I often find myself struggling to get a photo that captures the colors rights when shooting my paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kind of figured you all knew what I was talking about! I try to post the image that is as close to the original as can be – and I do a test for the natural light ones: if use of the enhancement tool in iPhoto makes virtually no difference in the image before and after, then I know the image is true to life in that lighting. Even indoors, our artwork takes on different hues and moods based on the lighting under which it is created/viewed. Cool light, warm light from artificial light bulbs is different from natural light – and even natural light can be cool or warm based on the time of day and the position of the sun and how the light enters the lens of the camera. It’s all relevant!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow love the effect, so different. This really does show the difference in lighting variations, I have to laugh, as I often run from room to room finding the best lighting with no shadows, ( big problem in the evenings) I often don’t succeed, lol mainly due to my impatience.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is fascinating isn’t it? The photo’s don’t ever seem to do the art work justice. It’s much nicer to see the art personally. 🙂 But I can see the beach-i-ness in your painting.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.