Orchids – Continued

WP_20160113_008
Water soluble wax crayon and Faber Castell marker

WP_20160113_010.jpg

WP_20160113_004
What I’m doing in my loft studio today
WP_20160113_002
How it started – water soluble wax crayons
WP_20160113_006
On my desk in my loft studio today
WP_20160113_007
Water soluble wax crayon and water soluble marker

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
(T.S. Eliot)

Today I decided to work with water soluble wax crayons and my neighbor’s reference book of photographs. She has quite the collection of beautiful orchids that she’s grown and photographed over the years. She’s in no rush to get her book back. I might play with it a little more. I owe her an orchid collage – but I am not sure which one to give her or even if I’ve created the right one for her yet. These are just little studies on torn 140 lb. cold pressed paper that I smudged in a corner, tore off the smudged part, and salvaged the rest. Good way to not throw out good paper!

23 thoughts on “Orchids – Continued

  1. Cynthia, your orchids have a spontaneity and life to them! I bet your neighbor is or will be happy with what you give her. How nice to let you borrow her photos. I must apologize for not keeping up with reading blogs. I moved everyone to view them in my reader (rather than get a lot of emails in my box) and I am not in the habit (yet) of looking in my reader.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really interested to see how you were using the water soluble crayons, I got a set for Christmas and am still coming to grips with what they can do. I hope you are pleased with the progress of your work, as I keep being amazed at how good your designs and flowers are getting. Your loose lines and colours are gorgeous. Not easy to pick colours for designs. Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Karen! I like the crayons – they are waxy at first, but when wet and dried, they lay down nicely on the paper. There’s a lot you can do with them. I will look at your blog to see if you’ve used them. I appreciate your appreciation of my work. Cheers! – Cindy

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.