Pale, shimmer, shine

Blue Orchid – art print available on Society6 by C. Maniglia – watercolor

Untitled

This watercolor was inspired by a beautiful, exotic orchid I saw in the flower shop the other day. While I had a photo of the bloom on my cell phone, I painted from memory. I didn’t use any yellow in my abstract rendering, although the flower, as you can see in the photograph, does have yellow in its center.

This next piece was painted with shimmery, metallic watercolors and regular watercolors with a beach-y feel. The starfish shapes and pale pearlescent whites remind me of the seashore.
WP_20151028_006

This next piece was done in neutral shades of shimmery gray and brown/greens. I want to call it “Nature” or “Camp,” for some reason.WP_20151028_008Finally, this last piece is just a little study of evergreen leaves and berries. I love the pale blue/green with tinges of purple in the berries. They have a sheer, shimmery feel to them.WP_20151027_013

We’ll have just about everything packed and ready to go by Friday/Saturday.

Thanks for all of your well wishes for our move to Florida! It’s going to be quite the adventure.

15 thoughts on “Pale, shimmer, shine

      1. I got a walk with Charlie in this morning too – rained all day yesterday – and he was definitely in need – as was I! I so miss our Laura too! 😦 Not sure when she might come back. Taking a blogging break.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It looks like you are getting ready for Florida, beautiful colors and images. Best to you during the move. I’m sure you’ll be happy when you’ve arrived.

    Like

Comments are closed.