“Oh, look – a person!” ~ and a couple of patterns

Girl in Cape – I sketched this around dinner time, unusual for me; I don’t draw or paint many (I can count them on my right hand) people.

Girl in Cape | C. Maniglia
Girl in Cape | C. Maniglia
Pretty in Pink gouache flowers
Pretty in Pink gouache flowers | C. Maniglia
What All The Girls Like To Draw | C. Maniglia
What All The Girls Like To Draw | C. Maniglia

And these are two fabric designs I created using my paintings from this morning (they’re both available on products, like pillows and tote bags and more, over at my Society6 shop).

I’m super thrilled with how the two patterns above came out. I’d love to do more of this tomorrow. For “Pretty in Pink,” I merely scanned my artwork into the computer and rearranged the flowers on a background in the same color as the paper I drew on. For the second one called “What All The Girls Like to Draw,” I used black ink after I painted the flowers and shapes to add more interest, then scanned in the computer and rearranged, added a few more black dots here and there, as needed.

Enjoy!

30 thoughts on ““Oh, look – a person!” ~ and a couple of patterns

  1. I am making a tote bag from patchwork right now for a baby gift along with a quilt. I saw this “What all the Girls Like to Draw” and wanted some to sew with. It’s very fresh and appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I can upload to Spoonflower What All The Girls Like to Draw – and then it would be available as a fabric. Let me work on that and notify you, ok?

      Like

  2. I like the pattern what girls like to draw, apart from black outlines which are always a winner for me, l like the variety of scale in the pattern elements, the two types of flowers, the smaller elements and then the dots which subtly link them. The limited colour choice keeps it from getting busy, a great design. Your girl sketch is great kudos for you in going for the figure drawing, they scare me and I retreat back to flowers. 😉 Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karen, I so appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed comment about the design. Thanks! LOL about the figure drawings, I know – I know. Flowers somehow can’t go wrong. ; ) Ever!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It helps me to think why I like one design over another, that critical analysis of work is what makes us better, it is also so interesting to see how others see our work. I always appreciate positive comments, but it is the why that makes us grow. X

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, I have fallen in love with pretty in pink. I could look at that lovely pattern all day, it makes my eyes happy. You other pattern is lovely too. And your drawing of the girl is just wonderful. Another yummy post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They’re all perfect and delicious looking. I agree with the comments I’ve read. I’m wearing a floral print dress today and I immediately thought that your gouache flowers would look great on dresses. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Weeee! I’m learning and getting better. It’s been hard and I still have a ways to go. Love to keep challenging myself and your comments are so encouraging, thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow Cynthia – the sketch of the young girl is absolutely amazing! Blown away once again. And your girly pink patterns are superb also! I adore your artistic talent!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.