Tonight

Tonight’s work didn’t go as planned. But from this watercolor and water soluble marker painting …

FALL FIREWORKS - CYNTHIA MANIGLIA
FALL FIREWORKS – CYNTHIA MANIGLIA

I got this … (recolored in Affinity Designer)

BLUE AND PLUM MUMS - C. MANIGLIA
BLUE AND PLUM MUMS – C. MANIGLIA

Then I made this, recoloring yet again and cropping on the computer …

RED MUMS

And I am sharing this abstract I did a couple of days ago, which the folks on Society6 seem to like a lot for some reason.
It kind of looks like stained glass …

GEO TURQ AND CORRAL TERRAIN BY C. MANIGLIA
GEO TURQ AND CORAL TERRAIN BY C. MANIGLIA

All mixed media.

I’m itching to go back to straight watercolor. I love switching gears and just doing whatever I feel like. Sometimes, things don’t go as planned.

For instance, that top image began with a benign but rather pretty watercolor, shown here with my paints. It was light and airy. But after photographing it, I felt it needed more depth and interest. Then I thought I overworked it in the version above. Am I mad at myself? No, because then I wouldn’t have got that get blue and plum version of it when I imported it into the computer and recolored it using Affinity Designer. I did take the time to scan the original version in oranges, pinks and yellows, so I have a digital image of it if I want to go back to it. That’s the beauty of photographing your work (or scanning it) at various stages. You always have references to go back to, if needed. I, on the other hand, don’t like to do anything twice AND I rarely throw out my work. So, like Barry Comer once commented, I’ll “do anything for a good result.” Even if it means going in and using nail polish on the work, as I’ve done in the past. And, I’ve noticed, beauty is in the eye of the beholder … what one person likes, another may not, and vice versa. I try to please myself first. Otherwise, this whole artistic process would not be as satisfying or fun or exciting to me. I like when I get surprises, as I did with the blue and plum version of my top painting. That was a treat, very unexpected. I was just fooling around with the levels, gamma, and blending modes in Affinity Designer and boom, wow, there it was – a softer, gentler version of my “Fall Fireworks” painting.

WP_20151017_004And I did do this little pine cone thing in my Moleskin, too …

WP_20151017_002

So it’s all good in my book! Speaking of books, my watercolor sketchbook is nearly finished – there’s only a few pages left, and then it’s onto a new one (good thing I have one waiting in the wings).

19 thoughts on “Tonight

  1. Always love a post on an artist’s process, it is great to see how others work and then work with paintings that do t go as planned. That is where all the great learning comes from. Thanks for sharing. Karen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was looking at the current stage of autumn and saw your flowers and your palette which aligns perfectly with what is outside! I love how you alter your colors and keep pushing. I think its great to explore until satisfied. Lovely rich post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, PS the blue and plum version of the top one (second image) was recolored in a computer program because i wanted to see what it would look like if I didn’t put such heavy layers of colors. the top image is the end result of what i show with the paints – i keep layering color and markers …

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.