Trees – and sizing issues with watercolor paper

tree outside my window journal spread 9-12-15 1

This journal is, I’m sad to report, one in which the sizing has gone bad. It’s an issue with watercolor paper. Maybe that’s why I love my other big, scrapbook journal so (it’s lower grade paper, less than 140 lb., with lots of tooth and great for watercolor “play” and experimenting, the one I use a lot); I never have to worry about issues like the sizing going bad in it, it’s inexpensive, and plentiful.

The problems encountered with watercolor paper gone bad Barry Comer started talking about in one of his blog posts. You try to paint on the paper and the paint goes all wonky on you. I did some investigating and found out that the sizing can go bad on watercolor  paper, particularly if you buy it on sale – but it can go bad on paper you already own. You can read all about this issue in this great article.

18 thoughts on “Trees – and sizing issues with watercolor paper

  1. I’ve never heard of the sizing issue either. Like you I mostly work in a sketchbook. Mine has 110 lb paper i think and it takes a few layers of watercolour–enough for sketching.

    I do have a few older pieces of Arches, both cold-pressed and hot-pressed, so I hope it doesn’t go bad on me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful tree! I had wondered about paper inconsistency. Very insightful article, it explains a lot! I thought it was just me, glad to know I don’t always create those strange marks that mysteriously appear on my paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tips, I never use water colour Im too heavy handed and never leave enough white on my page. But soon I want to take a Craftsy course on watercolour. I like to try out new mediums and it is coming up on my list. When I visit other artists such as yourself, Boy do I get inspired. Thank you.
    Kath

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jodi, it is a sinking feeling when all goes sound. There is not much she doesn’t do for a successful outcome, so I agree. However, one would hope our vendors will be responsible and communicate back. I’m waiting (game show clock sound). (:

      Liked by 2 people

  4. You do wonderful trees! I really need to re-educate myself on sizing again. It’s been a long time since I did much watercolor and I have a lot of old w/c paper I bought years ago when I was painting more often.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.