Crotons

Crotons - mixed water media (watercolor and water soluble marker). Cynthia Maniglia, 2015.
Crotons – mixed water media (watercolor and water soluble marker). Cynthia Maniglia, 2015.

I like when photos inspire. When I went to the pool on Labor Day, I planned to photograph this plant just because I wanted to capture the color and save it to look at later. The more I kept looking at it, the more I thought it would be great to bounce off it and try to create a piece of artwork – for a textile pattern or just water media on paper.
WP_20150907_007

So many gorgeous “still summer” colors. I started out planning to use lots of yellow and orange and pale to mid-tone pinks. But for the paper piece, it seemed to want more greens. Watercolor and water soluble marker. In looking at the side by side image below, you can see how I used the photo for reference but did not feel the need to copy it verbatim.

tropical leaves side by side

When dealing with photos, I like to use them as references only and do a more interpretative piece of art. You can see how I pick and chose where to follow the photo and where to stray.

12 thoughts on “Crotons

Comments are closed.