That Became This

In my watercolor sketchbook - C. Maniglia, 2015
In my watercolor sketchbook – C. Maniglia, 2015
Mixed water media - Zendoodle by C. Maniglia 2015
Mixed water media – Zendoodle by C. Maniglia 2015

This is how it looks now. A Zendoodle.

But it started out more like this …

Mixed water media - Golden Shale 1 by C. Maniglia 2015
Mixed water media – Golden Shale 1 by C. Maniglia 2015

And there was a point in the middle where I digitally painted over it and it looked like this …

golden shale
Mixed water media – Golden Shale by C. Maniglia 2015

From afar, if you look at them in thumbnail size, they all have a sort of paisley feel about them. Close up (particularly in the earlier stages), they have a more organic feel.

See … here’s a thumbnail:

Mixed water media - Zendoodle by C. Maniglia 2015
Mixed water media – Zendoodle by C. Maniglia 2015

I was thinking about stones. And shells. Mixed media. Watercolor, metallic and regular, water soluble markers and … NO nail polish this time. That became this and this … and they all exist digitally. It’s good to take photos of your work along the way. Anyway, I’m hellbent on filling up my journal this month for some reason. Hope you don’t mind all of my posts. It feels great to share! I appreciate all your kind words.

PS I forgot to say how from this I learned that my markers actually will blend with water and with watercolor paint. Which is super cool. No doodle is wasted. It’s all a learning experience and can be fun.

18 thoughts on “That Became This

  1. Good reminder! I almost never remember to take photos along the way. I love how it turned out! I would never have guessed that’s where it would end up being from the first two steps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nina…thanks for asking. Most of my stuff I show here is in the raw – no digital. But if I do paint digitally I say. I use Affinity Designer for Mac. I scan my artwork on my HP scanner. Here you can see in the beige versions how little I painted digitally. To turn it into the orange version I took the initial beige artwork and just had at it with my orange and pink markers. No digital painting in the final.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.