Feathers in My Little Hand-Sewn Sketchbook

Feathers - mixed media | markers, colored pencil, nail polish on paper | C. Maniglia 2015
Feathers – mixed media | markers, colored pencil, nail polish on paper | C. Maniglia 2015
Hand-sewn journal - cover with gems | C. Maniglia
Hand-sewn journal – cover with gems | C. Maniglia
Hand-sewn paper journal spread - C. Maniglia 2015
Hand-sewn paper journal spread – C. Maniglia 2015

I had a few sheets of paper that I had used for blotting up moisture between the pages of my journal when pressing flowers that were slightly buckled in certain portions but perfectly fine in others. So I cut the paper down to size, folded the sheets in half, left the right edge “deckled” (torn), and center-stitched down the middle with embroidery thread and a thick needle. Feathers are a big motif in the surface design world (you’ll see more and more of them on sheets, clothing, etc. this fall). I picked up the colors and motifs from the feathered fan Victorian decoupage cut-out to decorate my pages. Then I redid my feathers in the same color scheme as a bigger page in my larger journal. That’s the beauty of sketchbooks. You can discover something you did and want to pursue further, then build on it creatively.

journaling ~ exploring colors and designs | Sand Salt Moon
journaling ~ exploring colors and designs | Sand Salt Moon

d287e8d747dcb735473be96566305000

And doesn’t it look cool as a pillow? Available on my Society6 site. (Free shipping worldwide going on now, btw.)

9 thoughts on “Feathers in My Little Hand-Sewn Sketchbook

  1. How beautiful! Love handmade books! I always love your artwork. I had a look at your site…very impressive; so much to look at. Love your work “Last Night’s Sky” on there. I think I need to add more work and generally sort out my RedBubble site…all takes time! All the best, Janette. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.