Pressing Summer

WP_20150711_006 WP_20150711_005Here are some flowers and leaves I pressed on paper over the past week or so. Since I used my watercolor journals to press them, I didn’t want to disturb the process and hence, have not been painting or sketching. There was always something more “pressing” to do last week (pun intended). The begonias were not easy to press – their edges have browned already. The above two photos are of the arrangement as I glued it onto the paper. Below are the arrangements on black and white paper, while I was playing around with them.

Summer flowers pressed on black paper
Summer flowers pressed on black paper

It’s fun to press flowers and leaves and store them between wax paper and cardboard, to preserve for later art projects. I like incorporating them into my watercolor collages, as I did in my Botanical Holiday piece.

Summer leaves pressed on white paper
Summer leaves pressed on white paper

You can do this too; it’s easy and fun. Now’s a great time to collect some summer flowers and leaves for pressing. I have so much fun going for walks and looking for interesting bits of nature to press or paint.

Summer leaves and wild flowers pressed on black paper
Summer leaves and wild flowers pressed on black paper

Happy Summer!

19 thoughts on “Pressing Summer

  1. I like this idea Cynthia, the holiday painting and collage turned out beautifully. I’m always learning something new from my blog friends. Happy Day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve just pressed mine onto regular paper, but once they have dried you can transfer into a sealed packet of some kind – Ziplock plastic bag and cardboard? Whatever works for you. You can Google it!

      Like

Comments are closed.