Finally ~ Roses in Gouache

WP_20150520_045

I finally used my gouache paints. Here are two pieces where I used gouache all by itself. I’ve been dying to use gouache exclusively in a piece. Saving it almost. In my sketchbook with the porous paper, I used my brush to stroke the underpainting freely, working from a still life, with a simple palette of crimson red, brilliant red, and green leaf. Then I used the same palette on smoother, 140 lb. cold press paper. In both cases, I worked wet on dry and wet in wet, and was careful not to overwork or correct.

Sketchbook - Roses In Gouache - by Cynthia Maniglia 2015 - available on Society6.com as an art print, cards, and phone case/skin.
Sketchbook – May Roses by Cynthia Maniglia 2015 – available on Society6.com as an art print, cards, and phone case/skin.

I feel fruitful and happy. This is exactly the strength of color coupled with transparency and lightness, simplicity, and freedom I’ve been seeking in my work. Finally. Tonight, it feels good.

Lush Red Rose - painted in gouache on 140 lb cold press by Cynthia Maniglia, 2015
Lush Red Rose – painted in gouache on 140 lb cold press by Cynthia Maniglia, 2015
9 thoughts on “Finally ~ Roses in Gouache

  1. Ok, so this might sound like a stupid question, but what is gouache? I’ve seen the word several times now, but I don’t really know exactly what it is. (Wishing I had taken an art class at some point in my life and learned some terminology!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OK, not a stupid question. Gouache is French Watercolor paint – it’s opaque liquid paint with different components that make up the pigments (binders, etc.). But I use it and find it does have some aspects of transparency when mixed with water. It’s a wet medium, different from oils and arcrylics. Per Wikipedia: “Gouache[p](/ɡuːˈæʃ/; French: [ˈɡwaʃ]), also spelled guache, is a type of paint consisting of pigment, a binding agent (usually gum arabic), and sometimes added inert material, designed to be used in an opaque method. It also refers to paintings that use this opaque method.” Thanks for asking!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love these! The concept of gouache terrifies me for some reason, and I haven’t attempted it all–not even white. But I absolutely love how these turned out!! Great work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.